Just a quick update to let you all know that I am safe! I am in Thailand now and in one part of the country there are lots of protests going on. Some people in Thailand want the government to change so they are telling others that they are unhappy and about their new ideas by all wearing red shirts (they are being called “the Red Shirts”), gathering at public places and standing in the street to shut down traffic and make speeches. At first, the protests were very peaceful. I walked through one a little more than a week ago that was outside of the hotel I was staying at in Bangkok, the capital. People were giving speeches and listening to others talk and sitting in the streets; there were 55,000 people on the day that I saw the protests.

But a few days ago, the police and the protestors started getting angry with each other and things weren’t so peaceful any more. There was lots of pushing and shoving, some people fell down and couldn’t get up and got stepped on. Some people even were shot with guns even though the police weren’t shooting real bullets, they only had rubber pellets in their guns. About 20 people died and almost 1,000 were injured from the fighting. People here are shocked because usually, Thailand is a very peaceful place and there hasn’t been fighting like this in more than 20 years.

But I am fine! The day of the bad fighting, I decided that it was time to leave Bangkok! I went to the train station in the morning and waited all day long for a train to take me to a city in the north called Chiang Mai. There is no fighting in Chiang Mai (thank goodness!). There was a big TV screen in the railway station in Bangkok and clips of the fighting kept coming up in the news, I think people were glad to be leaving the city. I got on a train two hours before the fighting got really bad and now I am in Chiang Mai, safe and sound!

There is a Thai New Year festival happening here that I didn’t even know about! People spray each other with water guns since it is so hot! I will write all about it soon.

Just wanted to let you all know that I am alright. I am writing a post about my time in China now and it will be up by the end of the week!

Lots of love to you all!

Miss Young

